Baby Shower Cake

It has been an action packed month!  The lead up to Christmas is always busy, but his year things seem to have been extra busy.  I have had to stretch myself and learn new skills and this is what I want to share with you today.

I had a request for a Baby Shower cake.  I hadn’t done one before and I wanted it to be special.  I was supplied with a photo of something they liked and at first I was a bit hesitant (it had gumpaste baby booties on it), but I knew that there was sure to be a tutorial on the internet!

So here is the result:

babyshowerSo now for the important bits!  This is a White Chocolate Mudcake and this is my go-to recipe.  I can’t improve on this, the only changes I make is to increase it.  For this cake I doubled the recipe (the little cube on top is also made of cake)

White Chocolate Mudcake

via ninemsn

Ingredients

  • 180g white eating chocolate, chopped
  • 350g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 2 2⁄3 cups (590g) caster sugar
  • 1½ cups (375ml) milk
  • 2 cups (300g) plain flour
  • 2⁄3 cup (100g) self-raising flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs

Preparation method

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C (140°C fan-forced).
  2. Grease a deep 22cm-round cake pan; line base and side with baking paper.
  3. Combine chocolate, butter, sugar and milk in a large saucepan; stir over low heat until smooth. Pour mixture into a large bowl; cool for 15 minutes.
  4. Whisk in sifted flours, extract and eggs.
  5. Pour mixture into pan; bake for about 1 hour 45 minutes. Cool cake in pan.

babyconverse

And for the baby converse tutorial I followed this one, but there are quite a few others.

You’re never to old to learn something new!  These were super-fun to make and came together really easily.  It gave me confidence that I could attempt something a bit more complicated…well we’ll see 🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

