The Cookie Roundup

So I know I haven’t blogged here for a while…there has been a lot happening in my world over the past twelve months (which I have blogged about here) and although I have had many ideas for recipes (and even starting writing a post earlier this year) life has sort of just got on top of me.  But, I am determined to get back on track.

I just (like 30 minutes ago) read a blog about roundups and decided that the best way for me to get back on the Food Blogging Wagon was to start with a roundup of some of my most used recipes and seeing as though Christmas is just around the corner, what better time to do a roundup on Cookies. (Ok, so you might not get the connection, but I like to bake cookies at Christmas time…they make great gifts)

 

Chewy Chocolate 20140825_205952223_iOSChunk Cookies – by Sally’s Baking Addiction

This is my all-time favourite Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe…for a couple of reasons.  Firstly, the recipe is written with measurements in grams as well as cups…as a baker at heart, I prefer to cook by weight rather than volume, I find it more accurate and also, being from Australia, our metric cups differ in volume to the imperial cup, so grams are far more accurate.  Secondly, they are delicious!  Crispy on the outside and deliciously soft and chewy on the inside – perfect!

Variations – I like to add both white and dark chocolate chips to the mixture and I use Caster Sugar (or superfine sugar) instead of granulated sugar.  I also like to make them really big!

 

20131218_060538354_iOS

 

The Perfect Sugar Cookies – by Design Eat Repeat

I did a lot of research before making my first Sugar Cookies.  Being from Down-Under, Sugar Cookies are not a big thing here and being that I live in a sub-tropical part of Australia, they are a little tricky to perfect (especially since I was making them in Summer).  Needless to say, the title of “Perfect Sugar Cookies” caught my attention.  After a few hitches with determining how thick to roll the dough and making sure to chill, chill, chill, they indeed were perfect

 

 

20140124_004500432_iOS

 

Chewy Anzac Biscuits – by Exclusively Food

Ok, so technically a biscuit and not a cookie (although in Oz the terms are mostly interchangeable), the Anzac Biscuit is as traditional to Australians as Vegemite.  There are a lot of stories and memories surrounding these small morsels of deliciousness and there is often debate over whose mother/grandmother makes the best, and whether soft or chewy is superior.  This recipe is of the chewy variety, but has links to a softer version.

 

 

whitechocmac

White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies – by Julia’s Album

White chocolate and macadamias, what’s not to love?

This combination is my husband’s favourite and these cookies are the bomb.  As a special treat I like to dip half of them in melted white chocolate

(Photograph from Julia’s Album)

20131218_051909849_iOS

 

 

The Perfect Dark Chocolate Sugar Cookie – by Sweetapolita

Yes, this is another sugar cookie recipe, but I had to add these to my roundup.  Perfectly chocolatey and beautifully buttery, they make delectable Christmas treats and make fabulous gifts and stunning centrepieces (when made into Christmas Trees).  For a little bit more of a Christmas hit, try adding some powdered ginger or cinnamon.

 

 

So that is my first roundup!  I would love to hear about your own cookie recipes or, if you give these a go, your results.

Happy baking!

Michelle xxx

5 thoughts on “The Cookie Roundup

Leave a Reply

